Media Release

Grape and wine board appointments extended to June 2015

26 September 2014

Minister for Agriculture, Barnaby Joyce, has today announced that the chair and directors appointed to the Australian Grape and Wine Authority’s (AGWA) board will continue, in an acting capacity, until 30 June 2015 when the formal selection process is expected to be finalised.

The chair and board commenced in their roles on 1 July 2014 to establish AGWA, created following the industry-supported decision to consolidate the activities of the Wine Australia Corporation and the Grape and Wine Research and Development Corporation.

“Firstly I’d like to congratulate and thank the chair, Brian Walsh, and each of the directors for their work to date,” Minister Joyce said.

“From the start I believed the board contained the appropriate people for the job, which has now been demonstrated through their contribution to the effective start-up of the new Authority.

“At its first meeting at the beginning of August, the board was briefed on its roles and responsibilities and discussed priority issues, including the state of the industry, feedback from across the supply chain and the new organisation’s operations and strategic planning.

“At this first meeting, I also discussed my thoughts with the board for the direction of AGWA.

“The board has now met twice and is close to finalising its first Corporate Plan and Annual Operating Plan that will be in place until 30 June 2015.

“The AGWA board has appointed Brian Croser AO to the position of deputy chair and I congratulate Mr Croser on this appointment.

“The AGWA board has commenced the process to select a permanent Chief Executive Officer (CEO) having extended Mr Andreas Clark’s appointment as Acting CEO until the position is filled permanently.

“I have every confidence that the board will continue to ensure AGWA’s smooth operation in its infant stages and I look forward to working with them further.”

The acting AGWA directors are:

  • Mr Brian Walsh (South Australia) – Chair
  • Mr Brian Croser AO (South Australia) – Deputy Chair
  • Ms Eliza Brown (Victoria)
  • Mr John Casella (New South Wales)
  • Mr John Forrest (Victoria)
  • Mr Ian Henderson (Queensland)
  • Ms Janice McDonald (Western Australia)
  • Mr Kim Williams AM (New South Wales)

For more information about the Australian Grape and Wine Authority, visit