Media Release

New appointments see AFMA continue on track

Joint media release

The Hon. Barnaby Joyce MP
Minister for Agriculture

Senator The Hon. Richard Colbeck
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Agriculture

26 June 2014

The Australian Government has announced the new chair and Commissioners of the Australian Fisheries Management Authority (AFMA) Commission.  The new Commission represents a diversity of fisheries management experience, as well as a mixture of continuity and new perspectives.

Minister for Agriculture, Barnaby Joyce, said the Commissioners fulfil an important role overseeing the management of Australia’s domestic fisheries, ensuring strong governance and exercising the functions and powers of the Authority.

The Hon. Norman Moore has been appointed chair from 1 July 2014 to 30 June 2017. Mr Moore is most recently known for his work in the Western Australian state parliament and as Minister for Fisheries, Mines and Petroleum, and Electoral Affairs.

“We welcome Mr Moore to the role, recognising his experience in fisheries management and public office,” Minister Joyce said.
“Reducing the number of commissioners by two will provide some cost savings for AFMA while still providing good coverage of the required fields of expertise among the appointed commissioners.”

Current commissioners Ian Cartwright, Professor Keith Sainsbury and Richard Stevens have been reappointed for a two year term. 
They will be joined by Ms Catherine Cooper and Mr David Hall, who are appointed for a five year term.

All appointments commence on 1 July 2014.

As AFMA CEO, Dr. James Findlay continues his role as AFMA Commissioner. 

Parliamentary Secretary, Senator Richard Colbeck, thanked outgoing chairman The Hon Michael Egan for his leadership of AFMA.
“It takes strong leadership and commitment to oversee AFMA and its responsibilities. We wish Mr Egan the very best for the future and thank him for his work as outgoing chair,” Senator Colbeck said.

Senator Colbeck also thanked outgoing commissioners Dr John Glaister, Ms Jennifer Goddard, Ms Elizabeth Montano and Ms Denise North for their valuable contributions to AFMA.

Biographical information on Commissioners is available from