Media Release

​Joyce welcomes RIRDC board decision to relocate

5 March 2016

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources, Barnaby Joyce, has welcomed the decision by the Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation (RIRDC) board of directors to relocate the entire agency to Wagga Wagga.

Minister Joyce said it was pleasing to see RIRDC match the government’s commitment to revitalising regional communities.

“RIRDC’s original proposal was t​o relocate core operations to Wagga Wagga, but this decision by its board of directors to relocate the organisation in its entirety is a great outcome for the Riverina region,” Minister Joyce said.

“The rice industry is one that will benefit from RIRDC’s move; most of Australia’s rice crop is grown in the Riverina towns of Leeton, Griffith, Deniliquin and Coleambally, which are all within easy reach of Wagga Wagga.

“And it will allow RIRDC to build on its partnerships by directly engaging with farmers, business and research institutions in the region, including with Charles Sturt University in Wagga Wagga.

“The government is committed to boosting jobs growth and strengthening regional communities across Australia—and decentralisation is an important part of that commitment.

“Through the Ag White Paper we committed to improving the operations of the rural research and development corporations to deliver more efficient, targeted and transparent research, development and extension outcomes for rural industries—and living and working where the boots hit the dirt complements that commitment.

“It will facilitate greater input from farmers on R&D and it is incredibly pleasing to see RIRDC show that commitment to the industries they serve.”