​Media release​

Biosecurity award winners making the impossible possible​

6 March 2018

  • Excellence in biosecurity recognised at the Australian Biosecurity Awards ceremony
  • The awards recognise individuals, groups and organisations that are supporting and improving Australia's biosecurity systems.

Those doing their bit to protect Australia's $59 billion agricultural industries, Australia's unique environment and public health were hailed at this year's Australian Biosecurity Awards ceremony.

Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources, David Littleproud, said recipients included representatives from the banana, horse and food and beverage industries.

"Everyone has a role to play when it comes to biosecurity, but these individuals and businesses have knocked it out of the park," Minister Littleproud said.

First Point Animal Services received an Industry Award for their work with the department on a purpose built facility to allow boots, clothing and stalls to be disinfected, reducing the risk of diseases such as influenza.

"With the hundreds of horses imported into this country each year First Point Animal Services has shown they're not horsing around when it comes to biosecurity," Minister Littleproud said.

Mackay Farming Group received an award for Farm Biosecurity Producer of the Year for extensive on-farm biosecurity measures, including staff training, making the impossible possible.

"Last year when Panama Disease was detected on this property, one of Australia's largest banana farms, everything could have gone absolutely bananas. But due to extensive preparations their shed shut down for only two hours," Minister Littleproud said.

Tony Beaver, former Director of the Food and Beverage Importers Association, received this year's David Banks Biosecurity Lifetime Achievement Award.

"Tony is a pioneer in his field and has made a huge contribution to the control of imported food and beverages coming into Australia," Minister Littleproud said.

"I congratulate all of this year's winners."

For more information about the Australian Biosecurity Awards and biographies of the winners, visit agriculture.gov.au/aba.  

2018 Australian Biosecurity Awards winners

The David Banks Biosecurity Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Tony Beaver

 Industry Category

  • First Point Animal Services
  • Geoff Power, South Australian grazier
  • John McDonald, Nursery & Garden Industry Australia
  • Keren Cox-Witton, Wildlife Health Australia
  • Husqvarna Australia Pty Ltd
  • Cahill Transport Australia
  • Panalpina World Transport Pty Ltd

Farm Biosecurity Producer of the Year

  • Mackay Farming Group
  • Rum Jungle Organics

Government Category

  • Grains Farm Biosecurity Program
  • Lois Ransom, Department of Agriculture and Water Resources

Fast Facts

  • The Australian Biosecurity Awards provide public recognition of the winners' contribution to protecting and supporting Australia's biosecurity.
  • The awards also increase community awareness of biosecurity.
  • The 2018 awards will be presented in conjunction with 2018 Science and Innovation Awards for Young People in Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry as part of the ABARES Outlook Conference.
  • This year there are 12 winners under four categories.​