​Media Release

Celebrating Australia’s top farmers

3 August 2018

  • Deadline for Australian Farmer of the Year nominations extended one week to August 7
  • Winners to take part in the Australian Farmer of the Year Leadership Program
  • Coalition Government invested $150,000 to fully fund the leadership program

Australia's top farmers will have the chance to share leadership secrets at this year's Australian Farmer of the Year Awards.​

Minister for Agriculture David Littleproud said the winners will receive places in Australian Farmer of the Year Leadership Program.

"We want to help these farmers be the best leaders they can be," Minister Littleproud said.

"Giving the winning farmers a spot in this leadership course will help them be the best of the best.

"Previous winners, such as Andrew Bulmer in 2017 have been great ambassadors for agriculture.

"These top farmers will help achieve the NFF's ambition to build an $100 billion agricultural industry by 2030."

The course is funded by the Federal Coalition Government and run by Kondinin and ABC Rural.

"I thank Kondinin Group and ABC Rural for their forward thinking," Minister Littleproud said.

"Nominations for the Australian Farmer of the Year Awards have been extended by a week, so make sure you get that nomination in by 7 August.

"I'm looking forward to meeting this years' winners at a ceremony in Canberra on 16 October."

For more information on the awards and to submit a nomination, visit www.farmeroftheyear.com.au.