Apply now to help regional communities prepare for drought

  • Grants of up to $500,000 are available for community organisations in 35 regions for projects to help regional Australians prepare for drought.
  • Successful applicants also get access to leadership development support for their communities.
  • Part of the Australian Government’s Future Drought Fund—in partnership with the Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal and the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation.

The Albanese Government is helping regional communities to be better prepared for drought, with $12.1 million to be invested under the Federal Government’s Future Drought Fund.

Grants of $200,000 to $500,000 will be delivered for projects to help 35 regions across remote, rural and regional Australia prepare for future drought events.

Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry Senator Murray Watt said the grants are part of the Albanese Government’s ongoing commitment to helping regional communities adapt to the changing climate.

“We need to support regional communities to start preparing for the return of dry conditions—now,” Minister Watt said.

“The grants will help communities with greater drought risk build the skills and networks needed to get ahead of the drought cycle. 

“They can be used in a range of ways, including events, training, capability building and small infrastructure projects, and we encourage community groups to apply.”

The Future Drought Fund’s Community Impact Program is being delivered as part of the new $29.6 million Helping Regional Communities Prepare for Drought Initiative

Successful applicants will also receive leadership development support, so community organisations and local people can learn the adaptive skills to become drought resilience leaders.

The Future Drought Fund is partnering with the Foundation for Rural and Regional Renewal (FRRR) and the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation (ARLF) to deliver the program, drawing on their expertise and networks to meet the needs of regional people and communities.

“The Albanese Government is committed to collaboration with every level of government, industry and communities when it comes to drought and strategies to help adapt to our variable climate,” Minister Watt said.

“The FRRR and ARLF will work with other existing Future Drought Fund delivery partners in each region to build off community drought resilience programs already underway.”

“I’m looking forward to seeing the impact of community organisations connecting with existing drought knowledge in their region, so they’re better prepared for the next drought.”

Learn more and apply now visit:


Far West: Balranald, Bourke, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Central Darling, Walgett, Wentworth, Unincorporated NSW
Murray: Albury, Berrigan, Edward River, Federation, Greater Hume Shire, Hay, Murray River, Murrumbidgee
Central West: Bogan, Cobar, Coonamble, Cowra, Dubbo, Forbes, Gilgandra, Hilltops, Lachlan, Mid-Western, Narromine, Parkes, Upper Lachlan, Warren, Warrumbungle, Weddin
North-West: Gunnedah, Liverpool Plains, Narrabri, Tamworth, Walcha, Moree Plains
Northern Tablelands: Armidale, Glen Innes Severn, Gwydir, Inverell, Tenterfield, Uralla

Central West: Barcaldine, Barcoo, Blackall-Tambo, Boulia, Diamantina, Longreach, Winton 
South-West: Balonne, Bulloo, Maranoa, Murweh, Paroo, Quilpie
Darling Downs and Burnett: Bundaberg, Cherbourg, Goondiwindi, North Burnett, South Burnett, Southern Downs, Toowoomba, Western Downs
Fitzroy Capricornia: Banana, Central Highlands, Gladstone, Livingstone, Rockhampton, Woorabinda
North-West: Burke, Carpentaria, Cloncurry, Doomagee, Flinders, Mackinlay, Mt Isa, Richmond
Hinterland to Gulf: Croydon, Etheridge, Mareeba Shire
Northern Queensland Dry Tropics: Burdekin, Charters Towers, Isaac, Mackay, Palm Island, Townsville, Whitsunday
Cape York-Torres Strait: Arukun, Cook, Hope Vale, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Mapoon, Mornington, Napranum, Northern Peninsula, Pormpuraaw, Torres, Torres Strait Island, Weipa, Wujal Wujal

Arid Lands: Alice Springs, Central Desert, MacDonnell
Tablelands: Coomalie, Katherine, Litchfield, Roper Gully, Unincorporated NT, Victoria Daly, West Daly

Gascoyne: Carnarvon, Exmouth, Shark Bay, Upper Gascoyne
Wheatbelt Central: Bruce Rock, Kellerberrin, Koorda, Merredin, Mt Marshall, Mukinbudin, Narembeen, Nungarin, Trayning, Yilgarn
Wheatbelt South: Brookton, Corrigin, Cuballing, Dumbleyung, Kondinin, Kulin, Lake Grace, Narrogin, Pingelly, Wagin, West Arthur, Wickepin, Williams
Great Southern: Albany, Broomehill-Tambellup, Cranbrook, Denmark, Gnowangerup, Jerramungup, Katanning, Kent, Kojonup, Plantagenet, Woodanilling
Mid-West: Carnamah, Chapman Valley, Coorow, Cue, Greater Geraldton, Irwin, Meekatharra, Mingenew, Morawa, Mouth Magnet, Murchison, Northampton, Perenjori, Sandstone, Three Springs, Wiluna, Yalgoo
South-West: Augusta-Margaret River, Boyup Brook, Bridgetown-Greenbushes, Bunbury, Busselton, Capel, Dardanup, Donnybrook-Balingup, Harvey, Manjimup, Nannup

Arid Lands: Coober Pedy, Flinders Ranges (north), Port Augusta, Roxby Downs, Unincorporated SA
Eyre Peninsula: Ceduna, Cleve, Elliston, Franklin Harbour, Kimba, Lower Eyre Peninsula, Port Lincoln, Streaky Bay, Tumby Bay, Whyalla, Wudinna
Northern and Yorke: Adelaide Plains, Barossa, Barunga West, Clare and Gilbert Valley, Copper Coast, Flinders Ranges (south), Goyder, Light, Mount Remarkable, Northern Areas, Orroroo Carrieton, Peterborough, Port Pirie City, Wakefield, Yorke Peninsula
Murraylands and Riverland: Berri and Barmera, Coorong, Karoona East Murray, Loxton Waikerie, Mid Murray, Murray Bridge, Renmark Paringa, Southern Mallee
Limestone Coast: Grant, Kingston, Mount Gambier, Naracoorte Lucindale, Robe, Tatiara, Wattle Range 

Mallee: Buloke, Gannawarra, Mildura, Swan Hill
Loddon Campaspe: Campaspe, Central Goldfields, Greater Bendigo, Loddon, Macedon Rangers, Mount Alexander
Wimmera Southern Mallee: Hindmarsh, Horsham, Northern Grampians, West Wimmera, Yarriambiack
East Gippsland: East Gippsland
Goulburn: Greater Shepparton, Mitchell, Moira, Murrindingi, Strathbogie
West Gippsland: Bass Coast, Baw Baw, Latrobe, South Gippsland, Wellington
Ovens Murray: Alpine, Benalla, Indigo, Mansfield, Towong, Wangaratta, Wodonga

North and North-West: Break O’Day, Burnie, Central Coast, Circular Head, Devonport, Dorset, Flinders, George Town, Kentish, King Island, Latrobe, Launceston, Meander Valley, Northern Midlands, Waratah/Wynyard, West Coast, West Tamar
South: Brighton, Central Highlands, Clarence, Derwent Valley, Glamorgan/Spring Bay, Glenorchy, Hobart, Huon Valley, Kingborough, Sorell, Southern Midlands, Tasman